Heyman Center Fellowships

About the Fellowship

Funded by the Office of the Executive Vice-President of the Arts & Sciences, the Heyman Center Fellowships provide four junior and four senior Columbia faculty with course relief during the academic year.  These fellowships allow faculty to reduce their teaching loads to a minimum of one course per semester during the award year in order to conduct research and to participate in a regular weekly seminar, chaired by the Faculty Seminar Director at the Society of Fellows and Heyman Center for the Humanities.  Four post-MPhil graduate students will also be appointed, who will receive a $5,000 research allowance for their participation.

The Heyman Center Fellows seminar, chaired by Mark Mazower, Ira D. Wallach Professor of History, will meet regularly throughout the academic year (ten times each semester). In addition to providing the opportunity to present work-in-progress, the seminar will foster discussion across disciplines and fields, creating opportunities for collaborative research and teaching in future semesters. Heyman Center Fellows will have the opportunity to propose Heyman Center public events, which they would take the lead in organizing.

Please scroll down for application instructions to apply for 2019 - 2020. 

2018-2019 Heyman Center Fellows: 

Senior Faculty Fellowships
Ayten Gundogdu (Barnard, Political Science)
Theodore Hughes (East Asian Languages and Cultures)
Matthew Jones (History)
Katharina Volk (Classics)

Junior Faculty Fellowships
Naor Ben-Yehoyada (Anthropology)
T. Austin Graham (English)
Eliza Zingesser (French)
Karen Benezra (Latin American Literature and Iberian Cultures)

Graduate Student Fellowships
Liz Dolfi (Religion)
Alma Igra (History)
Paul Katz (History)
Warren Kluber (Theatre/English)
Emily Rutherford (History)

2017-2018 Heyman Center Fellows:

Senior Faculty Fellowships
Rachel Adams (English)
Brent Hayes Edwards (English)
Robert Gooding-Williams (Philosophy)
Celia Naylor (Barnard, History/ Africana Studies)

Junior Faculty Fellowships
Matt Hart (English)
Joseph Howley (Classics)
Ana Paulina Lee (Latin American and Iberian Cultures)
Dennis Tenen (English)

Graduate Student Fellowships
Robert Goodman (Political Science)
Sean O'Neil (History)
Anna Danziger Halperin (History)
Andrew Jungclaus (Religion)
JM Chris Chang (East Asian Languages and Cultures)

2016-2017 Heyman Center Fellows: 

Senior Faculty Fellowships
Maja Horn (Barnard, Spanish and Latin American Cultures)
Jean E. Howard (English)
Nara Milanich (History)
Guari Viswanathan (English)

Junior Faculty Fellowships
Manan Ahmed (History)
Tarik Amar (History)
Catherine Fennell (Anthropology)
Marcus Folch (Classics)
Natasha Lightfoot (History)
Rhiannon Stephens (History) 

Graduate Student Fellowships
Irina Denischenko (Slavic)
Samantha Fox (Anthropology)
Ulug Kuzuoglu (History)
Seth Williams (English)

To Apply:

Faculty applications for the Heyman Center Fellowships (2019-2020) are due 10 September 2018 (post-MPhil graduate student applications are due 15 October 2018).  Faculty fellowships are open to all Columbia and Barnard tenured and tenure-track faculty. 


  • research proposal (1500 words);
  • cover letter, giving a brief description (200 words) of the project, a brief schedule for completion, and commenting on why participation in a weekly interdisciplinary seminar at this point in your research would be particularly beneficial
  • curriculum vitae (this must include a section on departmental and university service)
  • letters of recommendation (2) required for dissertating graduate students only

Submission Guidelines:

Applications must be submitted as a single Word or PDF document, containing all materials noted above (excluding letters of recommendation—for graduate students only). Label the file thus: Last Name, First Name—HCH Fellowship 2019-20 (e.g., “Hamilton, Alexander—HCH Fellowship 2019-20”)

Recommendations for graduate student applications for the Heyman Center Fellowship must also be submitted by recommenders directly as a Word or PDF document, labeled as above (e.g., “Recommendation for Hamilton, Alexander—HCH Fellowship 2019-20”)

Send the application file as an attachment in an email to: [email protected]

Post-MPhil Awards to be announced by 18 February 2019

Heyman Center Fellowships